The Puerto Princesa City Water District successfully hosted the Water Environment Association of the Philippines’ 17th National Annual Convention held on September 20-22, 2023, at Aziza Paradise Hotel, Puerto Princesa City.

The convention was attended by the Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA) Board Chairman Hon. Ronnie L. Ong, and WEAP’s Officers, Trustees, and Executive Council:

National Council Chairman- GM Artemio F. Baylosis

Immediate Past President- Engr. Norman A. Tatco

Treasurer- Ms. Ruth E. Ambion

Vice President- Mr. Angelo J. De Jesus

President-Elect- GM Guillermo T. Pili, Jr.

President- GM Ester T. Vengco

PPCWD GM Walter J. Laurel

PPCWD Board Chairman Atty. Winston T. Gonzales

City Councilor Hon. Victor S. Oliveros to represent City Mayor Lucilo R. Bayron

WEAP’s 17th National Annual Convention was participated by 600 representatives coming from different water and environment sectors in the country, with the aim to acquire better knowledge and understanding about the latest topics in the said sectors. Among the topics discussed during the technical sessions were:

Technical Keynote: Convention Theme (USEC. Carlos Primo C. David, DENR; Represented by Engr. Norman A. Tatco)

Watershed Sustainability: An Integrated River Basin Perspective (Ms. Susan P. Abaño, NWRB)

Bulacan Bulk Water Supply: Addressing the Need for Water Supply (Engr. Leonor C. Cleofas, MWSS)

Integrating Gender Equality in Water and Sanitation (Atty. Claudine B. Orocio-Isorena, MWSS-RO)

Recycled Water as a Resource for Drinking Water (Engr. Kevin M. Manalo, Maynilad Water Services Inc.)

Environmental Impact of Combined and Separate Sewer System (Engr. Jennifer Vergara-Chan, Manila Water Company, Inc.)

Groundwater: Its Role in Nation Building and How to Protect It (Ms. Leonila M. Bron, Philippine Groundwater Society)

The participants were also able to tour around the Water Supply Improvement Project Phase 2 at Brgy. Iwahig on September 21, 2023.

The PPCWD extends its appreciation to the Water Environment Association of the Philippines for choosing the City of Puerto Princesa as the venue for their National Convention.